2016 · Battle · Review

Battle: Mac Strobe Cream vs L’Oreal Magic Lumi

This is my first time doing anything like this but I am very excited about it and if this goes well I’m hoping to do this with other products, but for right now we’re just going to talk about these two products and start here. Basically, I’ve got two products here that are supposed to be dupes and I’m going to put them head to head and see if they are dupes, so let’s get into talking about these two products.

IMG_7829

I see these two get compared quite often and considered dupes, and since I own both of them I decided that it would be a good idea to compare and see if they are the same, because they are in very different price ranges and if I can save a few bucks here or there that’s fantastic. The Mac Strobe cream costs 33 dollars for 1.7 ounces of product whereas the L’oreal Magic Lumi Primer comes in at 9.98 per .68 ounces, which a little less than half so it ends up not being as drastic of a difference when you factor in the size.

Also, as long as i’m understanding correctly these technically aren’t the same type of product. Mac Strobe cream is a illuminating moisturizer and the L’oreal Magic Lumi Primer is a illuminating primer, however I do think that they preform quite similarly. Let’s get into some detail about each product.

IMG_7831

This is a swatch of the L’oreal Magic Lumi Primer and I realize that it is quite hard to see either one of these product in photos, I think that the effects of these products are hard to see on the skin since they are fairly subtle. Anyway, this one is for sure a little bit more shimmery and leaves more of a shimmer finish that reminds me more of a highlight, it’s got a little more depth to it and I like that sometimes. I think this blends into the skin rather nicely and it leaves a nice base underneath whatever foundation I use. I also think that this prolongs the wear of my makeup a little better than the Mac Strobe Cream, which may be because this one is meant to be a primer and prolong the wear of makeup. So this one defiantly wins in that category

IMG_7832

As for the Mac Strobe Cream I think the texture on this is amazing, it’s very moisturizing and feels a little bit on the cooling side which I enjoy, this also sinks into the skin really nicely and my skin loves it. I think that this product has a lot more of a subtle effect on the skin, it doesn’t have as much shimmer to it and is for sure more of a skincare product. I don’t think this does a great job at prolonging the wear of my makeup, which isn’t really the point of this product but I still think it’s a really fantastic product. I also really love the smell of this, it’s a little thing but it’s quite enjoyable and worth mentioning.

So, now I’m going to talk a little bit about if I think these products are dupes, which personally I do not but at the same time I do think that if you own one of these you don’t need both of these, they are very similar, even if they aren’t dupes. If I’m being completely honest I would chose the Mac Strobe Cream over the L’oreal Magic Lumi Primer. I would chose it because I like the subtle look of it on my skin better and I also like the benefits that it has that the L’oreal one doesn’t have, but I guess when it comes down to it, it really depends on what kind of look you’re going for.

nicolesignout

Twitter Instagram Pinterest Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

