2016 · liquid lipstick battle · Review

Battle of the Liquid Lipsticks: Round #1 Battle #1

I’m really excited to be writing this post because I am really excited about this new series that will be here on my blog, which you probably can guess what is by the title, at least to some degree you should be able to. I’m going to be battling liquid lipsticks, but I’m going to be doing it tournament style which means that there will be one liquid lipstick at the very end that I crown the queen of liquid lipsticks.

I’m not sure how many rounds there will be yet, I have either seven or eight pairs at the moment but I may pick more up between now and the end of what I have now, but I can’t imagine there being more than ten pairs. I will also be posting these weekly, I will be posting on Friday except for the month of December when I will be posting Tuesday, because I planned out my schedule for December and had all of the Fridays full before I even realized that I was supposed to be posting this series on Friday, and instead of moving the whole thing to Tuesday like a smart person I decided that I would do it on Friday’s for November and after December and during December I will be posting on Tuesday.

I will be starting out with a fair amount of information per liquid lipstick but as I progress in the battles I will be including more information and be getting a little bit more in depth with why I’m picking the ones that I am. I will for sure make sure to include plenty of information in the first bracket of battle though.

The last thing is that the introductions to the next battles will not be so long, I just have a lot of information in this first one that I am trying to share with you guys so you know what’s going on and I’m not just jumping into this series with no explanation whatsoever. This weeks battle will be between the NYX Lip Lingerie Liquid Lipstick in the shade Bedtime Flirt and the Julep It’s Whipped Matte Lip Mousse in Ooh la la. So let’s get into the battle.

wp-1476042786219.jpg
Sorry For The Upside Down Photo

Up first I’m going to talk about the Julep Whipped Matte Lip Mousse in the shade Ooh la la. From left to right I will list the times, the furthest on the left is when I applied it in the morning at 10:15 A.M., the middle is at 2:00 P.M. and the far right is at 6:10 P.M., which is a total of seven hours and fifty five minutes, so just five minutes shy of eight hours.

Application: This is really easy to apply, I had no trouble with it, it went on very evenly and smoothly.

Texture: It’s very thick and mousse like, which is to be expected, but it’s not too thick.

Pigmentation: This is very pigmented.

Time It Took To Fully Dry Down: 33 Minutes.

Smell: Chemically and plastic like, it’s not the worst and isn’t very strong but it for sure doesn’t smell good.

Kiss Proof: Yes, once it dries down but that takes a little while.

Final Score: 3 out of 5

Comments: While this one didn’t last as long as some and takes a while to dry, I really love the formula, it feels really comfortable on the lips, applies like a dream and looks really good, it just doesn’t have a lot of lasting power but I still really love this.

I love the packaging here, it’s very clean and straightforward. The wand is very strange and I don’t think I have anything else like it but it’s actually really easy to use. And the last photo is a hand swatch of the product, just so the color and texture can be seen just a little bit clearer.

Now for the second liquid lipstick in this battle is the NYX Lipstick Lingerie Liquid Lipstick in the shade Bedtime Flirt. Starting from left to right I’m going to share the times of my check ins, on the far left is at 8:20 A.M., in the middle is at 12:25 P.M. and on the far right is at 4:33 P.M., which is a total of eight hours and thirteen minutes, which is a pretty long day.

Application: Very thin and easy to apply.

Texture: Kind of watery and thin.

Pigmentation: Buildable.

Time It Took To Fully Dry Down: 6 Minutes, which was really quick.

Smell: Plastic like but very faint and barely noticeable.

Kiss Proof: Yes.

Final Score: 3 out of 5

Comments: This one completely lasted longer than the Julep one and it honestly went for longer than I showed here, the lasting power on this is a little bit insane. However I did not like the feeling of this one bit, it was so drying and kind of hurt my lips throughout the day, that is completely why this had such a low score was because of how drying it was.

The packaging for this product isn’t the best, it looks very generic but I don’t really mind that too much. The wand isn’t completely standard but it’s not that out there either, it’s really long and thing. And once again the swatch is just for a closer look at the color and texture.

I think this round was a very close and it was really hard for me to chose the winner but I finally settled on the Julep Whipped Matte Lip Mousse. The reason I decided on this was because of the feeling, I really didn’t like the feeling of the NYX one as much even though the lasting power was much longer. So you’ll be seeing the Julep one in the next bracket of competition.

Next week there will be a new battle so I’ll see you guys then.

nicolesignout

Leave a Reply

