2016 · liquid lipstick battle

Battle Of The Liquid Lipsticks: Round #1 Battle #3

It’s time for another liquid lipstick battle, which I am really excited about. And I know that I went on in the last post that I would be posting these on Tuesday’s throughout December but I didn’t realized I actually had them planned for Monday, and being too lazy to change my entire schedule to swap things around, so I’m just going to say that all of these will be posted on Monday throughout the month of December. Now with that out of the way let’s talk about the two liquid lipsticks stepping into the ring together this week, they are the Smashbox Always On Liquid Lip and the Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid. Let’s get into battling these two.

wp-1478635305786.jpg

 

Today we’re going to start out with the Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick in In Demand. From left to right I will tell you the times of the check ins, starting with the left photo which was applied at 8:24 A.M., the middle which was at 12:29 P.M. and the right at 4:33 P.M. which it a total of 8 hours and 11 minutes.

Application: Glides on really easily.

Texture: Really thin but buildable.

Pigmentation: Amazingly.

Time It Took To Fully Dry Down: About 20 minutes, which is a little on the long side.

Smell: It doesn’t smell of much.

Kissproof: Kind of, not at first but after a couple kisses it pretty much turns kissproof.

Final Score: 4 Out Of 5

Comments: I’ve heard so many amazing things about this product and I can see why, it takes a little while to dry but it’s really easy to apply, last a rather long time and is actually very comfortable, one of the more comfortable ones that I’ve tried so far. So I liked this one a fair amount.

I really like the packaging on this one, it’s very clean and simple packaging. The wand on this is a little bit strange but I really don’t mind it, it has a pointed end that makes it really easy to apply things really sharply but the bigger base is really easy to use to cover bigger areas of the lip, I think it’s a really cool design.

Up next we will be focusing on the Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid in Nude Thrill. Once again I will be talking about the check in times from left to right, starting with the right one which was taken at 11:07 A.M., the middle was at 3:11 P.M. and the far right was taken at 7:08 P.M. which is a total of eight hours and one minute of wear time.

Application: Smooth, really smooth.

Texture: Very thick, moussey and a little bit on the greasy side.

Pigmentation: Fantastic!

Time It Took To Fully Dry Down: It didn’t at all.

Smell: Awful, really floral and strong.

Kissproof: Not at all.

Final Score: 1.5 out of 5

Comments: This one just isn’t a liquid lipstick, at least not your typical matte liquid lipstick, it doesn’t wear well at all, smears and doesn’t dry down. It even looks glossy for most of the wear, so I would barely even consider this one a liquid lipstick. If I were reviewing these as lipsticks it may have gotten a higher score, although the smell really throws me off because it’s really strong, but for a matte liquid lipstick it just kind of fails. The pigmentation of these are really fantastic though.

 I really like the packaging on this one too, it’s very simple and straightforward and I honestly think it’s really similar to the Smashbox one, but not exactly the same as this one is longer and skinnier. The applicator is long and very skinny, which makes for pretty easy and precise application, so that is also a nice feature of this. As you can see here the texture of this is also very thick.

I think this is the first round that I’ve had so far where the winner is fairly clear, I know the winner completely but I think it’s also pretty clear just from this post alone without me saying anything more who the winner is. But, to make sure it is clear I am going to give this round to the Smashbox Always On Liquid LipstickOut of these two products it is one hundred percent the better product, I’m not a huge fan of the Maybelline one and if you’re looking for something matte and long lasting, I wouldn’t recommend that one at all, it’s really just a big pass if you ask me. The Smashbox one is really comfortable and fairly long lasting, as well as it comes in a lot of colors, so I would reccommend trying that one out if you’re looking for something a little more comfortable and has a lot of colors when it comes to liquid lipstick.

nicolesignout

2 thoughts on “Battle Of The Liquid Lipsticks: Round #1 Battle #3

  1. I was really debating on purchasing some of the the maybelline liquid lipsticks because they have some really pretty looking shades but Im glad i came across your review. I like this little series youre doing. Im gonna look at some of your other reviews because ive really been on the hunt to find more quality liquid lipsticks. I hate how hit or miss they can be!

    Like

Leave a Reply

