2016 · Blogmas · liquid lipstick battle

Battle Of The Liquid Lipsticks: Round #1 Battle #5

It’s that time of the week again, it’s time for another battle of the liquid lipsticks, which is exciting or at least I think that this is exciting every week. This week I will be battling the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream  and J.Cat Beauty Soft Matte Lip Cooler. I decided to put these two up against each other because they are similar products and price ranges, so I thought it would be nice to see which one comes out on top.

wp-1482069804841.jpg

The first one up on the chopping block is the J.Cat Beauty Soft Matte Lip Cooler in Frozen Choco. And if you’ve seen any of my other lipstick battle posts then you probably know that we go from left to right and talk about the times that I wore these, starting with the left. The left was applied at 7:42 A.M., the middle was at 11:50 A.M. and the right was at 3:51 P.M. which is a total of 8 hours and 9 minutes.

Application: Thick but smooth.

Texture: Very Moussey.

Pigmentation: Pretty good.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: 5 Minutes.

Smell: Mint Chocolate.

Kissproof: Yeah, for the most part.

Final Score: 3 out of 5.

Comments: I liked this, my biggest problem with this though is the color. The color on the tube, in the tube and dried on the lips aren’t even remotely close and I don’t like that. This ended up being a lot brighter than it even showed in the photo, but other than that and the fact that it doesn’t last super well I have no problems with this product.

The packaging on this isn’t something that I really own, it’s short and fat, but I don’t mind that too much. The applicator is really thin and skinny, which I kind of like because it makes for an easier application.

Now it’s time for the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Zurich. Starting at the left photo that was applied at 8:39 A.M., the middle was at 12:42 P.M. and the right side was at 4:45 P.M. which clocks in at a total of 8 hours and 6 minutes of wear.

Application: Fairly Smooth.

Texture: Very moussey and thick.

Pigmentation: This is fairly pigmented.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: 10 minutes.

Smell: Like vanilla cake batter, I love it.

Kissproof: Kind of but not completely.

Final Score: 3 out of 5.

Comments: I ate a pulled pork sandwich while wearing this one but from past experiences with this one it just doesn’t last long. This does feel great and comes in a ton of colors but the staying power is just eh.

I kind of like the packaging for this one, I like that the handle is matte black, I think it’s very sleek. The applicator for this product is really basic, it’s just a doe foot applicator and I have no problems with that at all.

Now, I will say that both of these products are actually really similar, which I said at the beginning of this post and that is completely why I put these up against each other, just to see which one is better. It’s almost like splitting hairs trying to decide between these two but I have made a choice and that is the J.Cat Beauty Soft Matte Lip Cooler. I decided on this one because I think that the lasting power is better on this one, I don’t like the color inconsistency and I prefer the smell of the NYX one, although I do like this one too so it’s not a big deal to me.

That is all for the week, if you’re interested there will be another liquid lipstick battle next week on Monday, I also post at 5 P.M. EST if you are curious as to when it will be up.

nicolesignout

Leave a Reply

