2017 · liquid lipstick battle · Review

Battle Of The Liquid Lipsticks: Round #1 Battle #10

I’m super excited to be writing this post because we are finally done with round #1 after this post goes up, which means we are closer to finding which of the liquid lipsticks that I’ve tested out is going to be on top, which is exciting. So after this post I’ve reviewed 20 different liquid lipsticks and will have 10 moving on to the next round, there are so many more liquid lipsticks I could include but I’ve decided to cut myself off here. This weeks battle will be between the H & M Velvet Lip Cream in Nudista and the Too Faced Melted Matte in Queen B. So let’s get into battling these two liquid lipsticks and see who ends up be lucky number 10.

wp-1485280745029.jpg

 

 

We’re going to start this post out with the H&M Velvet Lip Cream in Nudista and as usual we will be going from left to right. I applied it in the morning at 10:00 A.M., the middle was a check in at 2:30 P.M. and the last one was taken at 6:00 P.M. which is a total of 8 hours even. I don’t often do that because I always forget.

Application: Fairly Smooth.

Texture: A little bit on the moussey side.

Pigmentation: It’s not the best but it does have some color pay off.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: About 3 minutes.

Smell: Kind of vanilla but also a little bit plasticy.

Kissproof: Yes

Final Score: 2 out of 5.

Comments: I hated this color so much, but that is not what I want to say about this just wanted to get that out there was all. This just didn’t preform the way I was expecting, I hear a lot of good things about the H&M makeup line but this was just a let down. It did dry down really quickly and is kissproof though, but I’m just not a fan of how it looks and how it’s lasting power.

I really like the packaging on this one, it does feel a little bit on the cheap side but at the same time it is very simples, very clean and I really like that about this packaging. The applicator is just spongey and a little bit short, it’s pretty easy to apply precisely.

 

Up next is the Too Faced Melted Matte in the shade Queen B. And starting on the left picture I applied this at 8:15 A.M., the middle was at 12:21 P.M. and the right was at the end of the eight hours at 4:23 P.M. which is a total of 8 hours and 8 minutes. Just a little bit over 8 hours.

Application: Really Smooth.

Texture: This was really thin.

Pigmentation: This has very good pigmentation.

Time It Took To Fully Dry Down: Somewhere around 4 minutes.

Smell: I think this smells like straight up buttercream frosting, which I personally really love.

Kissproof: Yes.

Final Score: 4.5 out of 5.

Comments: I was really impressed with the staying power of this, after 8 hours of wear it barely looks like I wore it, which I really like. I also like how comfortable this felt on the lips. Overall I just really liked this.

I have a mini of this so I can’t completely judge the packaging, I’ve seen the full size and if I am being completely honest I don’t like the way that it flares out at the bottom, but I do like the mini packaging because it’s a lot more stream lined. The applicator is just a standard doe foot, which I think is fine.

So, I guess it is time to pick a winner and I think the winner for this round is kind of obvious, and I knew which one was going to win before I sat down and started typing this out, which I don’t always know. Let me stop rambling and announce the winner, the Too Faced Melted Matte, it just lasted longer, felt better and overall just looked better on the lips I think. I would for sure pass on the H&M one, maybe it was the color but it just didn’t preform the way that I wanted it to at all and didn’t look great on my lips, not just because of the color but also because of the way it applied. So, now we can finally move onto round two so next week when you check in for your weekly liquid lipstick battle update we will be seeing some past winners and be weeding out even more.

nicolesignout

Leave a Reply

