2017 · Battle · Review

Battle: Kat Von D Tattoo Liner vs Physicians Formula Eye Booster

wp-1483024732166.jpg

I kind of love doing these kinds of posts now, I’ve only done a few like this now but I want to keep doing them, I kind of love testing out dupes but at the same time I don’t really like the idea of going out of my way to buy two products to see if they are the same, it’s kind of weird I know. I have a couple lined up for the next couple of months though, so maybe by the time both of those are up there will be some more that I have planned out. So for today I will be battling the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper and the Physicians Formula Eye Booster Eyeliner in Ultra Black. So let’s get into battling these two products and seeing if they are dupes or which one comes out on top.

wp-1483024719576.jpgI’m going to start this post out with a picture of my face because that makes the most sense to me, a photo of me wearing both eyeliners so you can see how they look on my face. I think they both look really similar, with the exception of the application but that’s my own fault as I’m not the best with winged liner, I am getting a lot better at but clearly they are not perfect here. And now that I’ve made that super obvious I guess I can go back to saying that I think these both look the same, so I guess now that I’ve said that we need to get further into the differences and see how these two really stack up against each other.

wp-1483024723526.jpg

We’re going to start this out by focusing on the messed up eye, I probably could have cleaned it up and done a nice point but I think I wasn’t really feeling like fixing it at the time. This eye I applied the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner and this is probably the one that I have more experience with as I have owned it longer, not to say that I didn’t test both out a fair amount before doing this. I’m rambling, let’s get back to talking about eyeliner. I love this one, this is the eyeliner that has started my love of winged liner and has made it a lot easier for me to do and I honestly think it’s because of the brush, it’s not a felt tip but instead it is a brush tip (Which you will see below)  which I think is really unique. This is a really black eyeliner, I don’t have to go back over it to get it to be very dark black, which is another thing that I enjoy.

wp-1483024735655.jpgThis does not dry down matte but it’s not glossy either, I think once it dries it looks just like any other liquid liner, which I personally like. This liner is waterproof, which I’m indifferent about, but it really does last throughout the whole day and does require a makeup remover to get it off, with a little bit of makeup remover it comes off with ease.

I have a mini of the product but I assume that the brush is the same as it would be on the full size, it’s very precise and very pointed, which makes it easy to do a really thin line or a thicker line, it’s versatile which is another plus to this type of brush. The brush is very uniform and has no stray hairs, which is always a good thing.

So, I really like this liner and would probably purchase the full size if it wasn’t for the next eyeliner that I’m going to be talking about.

wp-1483024728525.jpgNow we’re going to talk about the next eyeliner, the cheaper product of the two, the dupe if you will. The eye that looks so much better than the other. This is the Physician’s Formula Eye Booster 2-in-1 Lash Boosting Eyeliner + Serum, that is such a long name and so hard to remember. I can’t vouch if it’s been helping boost my eyelashes or anything like that because I forget that it has some sort of serum in it so I wasn’t paying attention at all to try and record this. I want to start this out by saying do I think that this is a dupe of the Kat Von D Tattoo liner: kind of, and I will explain why I think that. I overall think the end result is the same, which I guess is all that really matters, but I also think that the formula is a little bit different which I think needs to be mentioned.

wp-1483024738727.jpg

The formula of this is different for sure, it’s a lot more watery than the Kat Von D and when I swatched it, it started to feather pretty much immediately on my hand which had me really nervous but on the eye I had no problems. The watery formula also makes it a little bit harder to get that dark color sometimes, I’ve found myself having to go over it a couple of times to get it as dark, but only sometimes which is very strange to me.

This is water resistant, which isn’t quite waterproof but that also doesn’t bother me, I don’t feel the need for waterproof but if you do be aware of that. I think this brush looks pretty much identical to the Kat Von D one, it’s very easy to use, it’s a brush not felt tip and when it dries down it doesn’t have a matte finish either but I like that. This lasted through the whole day no problem, it looked the same as when I applied it in the morning.

So overall I really like both of these and while I don’t think the formulas are exactly the same, I think the end results are and the application process is the same, so I’m going to say that these are dupes even if the formula is a little bit different. I will for sure be picking up the Physician’s Formula one again once I run out of both of these, which probably won’t be for a while, because this is half the price of the Kat Von D one. So if you can and you want to get something cheaper, I’d for sure go for the Physician’s Formula but I think both are great.

nicolesignout

One thought on “Battle: Kat Von D Tattoo Liner vs Physicians Formula Eye Booster

Leave a Reply

