2017 · Battle · liquid lipstick battle · Review

Battle Of The Liquid Lipsticks: Round #2 Battle #1

wp-1486056572837.jpg

I’m so excited about this because we are finally through round #1 of the liquid lipstick battle and onto the next round. I feel like this is going to get a lot harder from this point on, in fact I’m going into this post not even sure of which one is going to be the winner, which for me is rare. I will be battling The Balm Meet Matt(e) Hughes in Sincere and Lime Crime Velvetine in Cashmere. So, let’s just jump on into the first battle in this round.

We’re going to start this weeks battle out with the Lime Crime Velvetine in CashmereI’m going to tell you the times these photos were taken from left to right starting with the far left. That was taken at 8:42 A.M., the middle was at 12:31 P.M. and the far right was at 4:51 P.M. and that is a total of 8 hours and 9 minutes of wear.

Appearance On Lips: My lips are extremely dry right now, so both of these lip products don’t look the best, but this one settled into the lines on my lips a little bit but nothing too insane and other than that it was pretty good.

Texture: This is a very liquidy formula.

Pigmentation: Is very good in this shade, it took no effort to get to this color.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: 3 Minutes.

Smell: Plastic like and a little bit of vanilla, it’s not overpowering and I don’t even notice it when I apply it to the lips.

Kissproof: 100%

Comfort:  This one is fairly comfortable, it’s a little bit more drying than some of the ones I’ve tried but it’s not that bad.

Price: $20.00

Price Per Ounce: $227.27

Final Score: 3 out of 5

Notes: The reason why I think this didn’t last as long as it could is because of the fact that I ate a really messy and not well wrapped Chipotle burrito and wiped my mouth a lot. I do not like to do anything special when testing out liquid lipsticks, so whatever I eat that day is what I eat but that is probably why it didn’t last as well as the last time I wore it.

I want to say that I still really think this color is so unflattering swatched on my hands but I actually really like this on the lips.  I love this packaging, it’s so pretty and very unique, I will say it does feel a little bit on the cheap side but the lid is beautiful and very Lime Crime. The applicator is really pretty basic, it’s just a doe foot which I do not mind at all, it’s not the easiest to apply but it’s not hard either, it’s just middle of the road really. Something else that I didn’t think about talking about until recently was how much the stopper actually helps wipe off the product when you pull the wand out, I don’t really think that this one wipes off a ton of product because usually the applicator has a fair amount of product on it.

Up next is The Balm Meet Matt(E) Hughes in Sincere and we’ll be going over the times from left to right, starting with the far left. I applied this at 8:21 A.M., checked in on it at 12:32 P.M. and the last photo was at 4:40 P.M. for a total of 8 hours and 9 minutes, the same amount of time as the last one surprisingly.

Appearance On Lips: I found that this one also settled into my lines, of course this may be because my lips are extra dry at the moment, but just something worth noting.

Texture: This one is a little bit on the liquidy side but it has more of a moussey texture to it than the Lime Crime.

Pigmentation: It’s a little bit sheer but could easily be built up pif you wanted a more in your face kind of color.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: 5 Minutes.

Smell: The smell if this smells like thin mint cookies to me sometimes, other times it make me a little but queasy but that is probably a personal thing. On the lips I don’t notice any scent longer than 20 seconds maybe.

Kissproof: Yes, once it has fully set.

Comfort: This is really comfortable.

Price: $17.00

Price Per Ounce: $68.00

Final Score: 3.5 out of 5

Notes: I don’t think I have much to say about this one except it didn’t seem to last as well as it did in the last round.

I hate this packaging just because of the design of it, it feels alright but I think that it just looks cheap, it is a unique packaging but I’m just personally not into this ones packaging at all. The applicator from this one is also a doe foot, so it’s pretty standard, it doesn’t bother me to use it but it doesn’t make anything unusually easy to apply either. As for the stopper I think it does an alright job, it’s really pretty standard and I don’t mind that, I need to have enough product on the wand after all.

So, now that we’ve gone over these two I guess it is time to pick a winner, this one was actually really hard for me to decide because if I’m being honest I’m pretty disappointed in how both of these preformed compared to the last time. I was expecting so much more from both of these, but since I have to decide on one of these two I will pick the one that I think preformed much better and that is The Balm Meet Matt(e) Hughes.  I think that this one held up a little better, I do think that this one settled a little bit more than the Lime Crime one but I still think it preformed better so this one will be going on into the next round. Tune in next week to see which two will be up on the chopping block.

nicolesignout

Leave a Reply

