2017 · Battle · liquid lipstick battle · Review

Battle Of The Liquid Lipsticks: Round #2 Battle #2

wp-1486501588738.jpg

It’s another week so I guess that means it’s time for another liquid lipstick battle, this week I will be battling the Too Faced Melted Matte in Queen B against the Julep It’s Whipped Matte Lip Mousse in ooh la la. Let’s just jump right on into talking about this product.

This week we are going to start with the Too Faced Melted Matte Lipstick in the shade Queen B. The far left photo was taken at 8:15 A.M., the middle was taken at 12: 32 P.M. and the right side was taken at 4: 22 P.M. for a total of 8 hours and 7 minutes.

Appearance On Lips: This settles into the lines on my lips a little bit but for the most part it looks really good on the lips. It doesn’t settle right away but after a while of wearing it.

Texture: The formula of this is liquidy but not overly so.

Pigmentation: Is fantastic.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: About 3 minutes.

Smell: This smells like buttercream frosting if you ask me and I love that about it, it’s one of the best parts of it.

Kissproof: Yes.

Comfort: This is actually very comfortable on the lips.

Price: $21.00

Price Per Ounce: $91.30

Final Score: 4 out of 5.

Comments: I think this lasted better the last time but I think a little part of the reason why it didn’t last as well this time around is because I ate tacos with this wear, but I still think it lasted pretty well.

I have a mini of this product so this is not what the full-size product looks like, the full size has a wider bottom than this one and if I am being honest I prefer the mini packaging better than the full size. The applicator wand on this one is really standard, it’s a doe foot which I think makes for a fairly easy application, I have tried applicator wands that are easier but this one isn’t particularly hard to use. The stopper works well in this one, it gives me just the right amount of product that I need for applying a layer of it onto my lips, so that is something that I can really appreciate.

Next up is the Julep Matte Lip Mousse in Ooh La La. The left photo was taken at the time of application which was 7:58 A.M., the middle was taken at 3:42 P.M. and the right photo was taken at 4:02 P.M. and that is a total of 8 hours and 4 minutes.

Appearance On Lips: This looks gorgeous on the lips until it’s finally worn off.

Texture: The texture of this product is think and is mousse-like, as you would probably assume by the name, I like the consistency a lot actually.

Pigmentation: Is fantastic in this product.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: About 15 minutes, this one takes a little longer to fully set.

Smell: This doesn’t really smell much of anything, I can barely even notice a smell on this one.

Kissproof: Yes, once it has fully set it is kissproof but you have to make sure it is completely dry.

Comfort: This is probably one of the most comfortable liquid lipsticks in this entire series so far.

Price: $20.00

Price Per Ounce: $142.85

Final Score: 3.5 out of 5

Notes: I love this color so very much, it’s gorgeous on the lips and I think it makes my lips look a little bit plump and fuller, not that I really need it but for those who might want a little bit more fullness this may be a great formula/color for you.

I have mixed feelings about the packaging of this one, I think it looks very clean and sleek which is something that I really enjoy but I think it’s a bit bulky and a little bit on the wasteful side, which I don’t like as much. The wand on this one is very strange and I have yet to come across another one that looks like this, I’m not sure why they decided to do this kind of shape but I don’t really mind it, it’s still easy enough to apply to the lips but it’s just really weird. The stopper does a pretty good job on this one and I don’t really find myself with a ton of excess product on the wand.

So now it is time to pick a winner, this one was hard for me because I just really love the Julep one but I’m trying to base this on performance to some degree so I think I have to give this one to the Too Faced Melted Matte. I just think that it lasted longer and it wasn’t more comfortable, but it wasn’t uncomfortable at all either. I love the smell of it so much and I think I want to see how it performs in the next round. So, I guess that wraps up this weeks battle of the liquid lipstick, if you’re interested in seeing who comes out on top check back next week for another battle and we will be one step closer to seeing who comes out on top in the end.

nicolesignout

Leave a Reply

