2017 · Battle · liquid lipstick battle · Review

Liquid Lipstick Battle: Round #2 Battle #3

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-4-44-50-pm

I’m so excited that it is Friday, I haven’t had a ridiculously busy week this week but this week has felt off, I’m not really sure why but I do know that I’ve just not been on top of it this week. However, I am excited that it is Friday and this week is pretty much over, I’m ready for the weekend and I am ready for to see another product go into the next round of this battle. Up this week will be the Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick and the NYX Liquid Suede. So let’s get into it and see who comes out on top this week!

Let’s start this battle out with the Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick in In Demand. As usual, we will start on the far left photo which was taken at 8:42 A.M., the middle was taken at 12:50 P.M. and the right was at 4:51 P.M. which is a total of 8 hours and 9 minutes of wear.

Appearance On Lips:  I think this looks really great on the lips, I don’t find that it settles into the lines on my lips too much and overall looks really good.

Texture: This one is a little bit thicker than some and is a little bit moussey.

Pigmentation: This is a little bit lighter but is really buildable.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: 2 Minutes.

Smell: Just a tiny bit like plastic but it’s barely noticeable.

Kissproof: Yes.

Comfort: This is very comfortable on the lips, I barely notice I”m wearing it.

Price: $24.00

Price Per Ounce: $184.61

Final Score: 4 out of 5.

Comments: I don’t think I have much to say about this one other than I kind of expected this one to last longer than it did.

I really love the packaging of this one, it’s very clean and straightforward and the lid is matte which I especially love. The applicator wand on this one is super strange, I have another that has the same wand but up until that one I had never seen one that looked like that until the other one, but it is very unique. I have no trouble using this wand, the tip is pretty good for precision and the base of it is really good for just the majority of the lip. The stopper on this works really well, it doesn’t remove too much but it doesn’t leave the wand overly covered.

Now it is time for the other one and that is the NYX Liquid Suede in Soft Spoken and we will be starting with the left photo which was taken at 8:20 A.M., the middle was at 12:50 P.M. and the right was at 4:27 P.M. which is a total of 8 hours and 7 minutes wear time.

Appearance On Lips: I think this applies really gorgeously.

Texture: This is super liquidy, it’s probably the most liquid formula I have in this entire challenge.

Pigmentation: Is really wonderful, this is just a light coat on my lips.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: This one took a while to dry, probably around 15 minutes.

Smell: I don’t really pick up on much of any smell on this one.

Kissproof: Yes, once it’s completely dry.

Comfort: I barely even realize this is on my lips, it’s so thin that it’s comfortable.

Price: $7.00

Price Per Ounce: $53.84

Final Score: 3.5 out of 5

Comments: I feel like pretty much every other week one of the lipsticks have gone up against Chipotle and this week it was this one, it didn’t win against the tacos as you can probably tell.

The packaging on this one is just so underwhelming, it’s not bad but it’s just really boring and it’s nothing really memorable. The applicator wand is like a flat doe foot, it’s spongey like a doe foot but it’s really flat and it’s a little bit angled at the end of the wand itself. The stopper in this doesn’t do the best job because I find a lot of product on the sponge tip, so I usually have to wipe some off in the opening.

So, now that we have been over both of the liquid lipsticks in the battle I guess it is time to pick a winner, which this round was fairly easy to do, I knew the winner going into writing this post. The winner of this round is the Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick. I still love the NYX one and it is one of my favorites just because of color and feel, but the Smashbox just out performed it and really came out on top. Next week we’ll put two more in the ring and be one step closer to seeing who comes out on top, so make sure to stop by again next week.

nicolesignout

Leave a Reply

