2017 · Battle · liquid lipstick battle

Liquid Lipstick Battle: Round #2 Battle #4

Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 5.11.02 PM.png

It’s Friday again which means it’s time for another battle, two liquid lipsticks are going in and one will exit and go onto the next round of battle. This week I will be putting the J. Cat Beauty Soft Matte Lip Cooler in Frozen Choco and the Bronx Colors Matte Lip Tint in Bloom. Let’s get right on into talking about these two products.

This week we are starting out with the J. Cat Beauty Soft Matte Lip Cooler in Frozen Choco. And we will be starting from the left side which was applied at 10:37 A.M., the middle was at 2:31 P.M. and the right at 6: 41 P.M. which is a total of 8 hours and 4 minutes of wear.

Appearance On Lips: I think this looks really good on the lips, it doesn’t really settle into the lines or anything.

Texture: This is a mousse texture but also a little bit on the thin side.

Pigmentation: Very, this is super pigmented.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: Probably around 15 minutes, this one took a while.

Smell: Weirdly like mint chocolate and a touch of plastic.

Kissproof: No.

Comfort: Very much.

Price: $5.99

Price Per Oz: $22.18

Final Score: 1.5 out of 5

Notes: I hate this color, I hate what it does because it looks nude until you apply it then it looks more coral like, and once it is dry it is a fairly bright red kind of shade. Just be aware in case you do pick this up.

I’m not a big fan of this packaging at all, it’s very boring and generic looking and I don’t like that it’s short and really fat, it just doesn’t do it for me. The applicator is really nice, it’s thin and spongey so it works well for precise application and getting the entire lip. I think the stopper on this one does a great job at getting just the right amount of product off of the applicator.

As you would probably guess the next one up for review is the Bronx Colors Matte Lip Tint in Bloom. Let’s go from left to right, the left photo was applied at 8:36 A.M., the middle was at 12:45 P.M. and the right was taken at 4:43 P.M. which is a total of 8 hours and 7 minutes of wear on the lips.

Appearance On Lips: So so, it settles a lot but that may be due to my lips being insanely dry right now. I don’t think it looks terrible but not amazing either.

Texture: This is really liquidy.

 Pigmentation: Amazing.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: 3 minutes.

Smell: Nothing really.

Kissproof: Yes.

Comfort: This was is alright in comfort, it’s not the most comfortable but it’s not painful either.

Price: $7.50

Price Per Oz: $44.11

Final Score: 3.5 out of 5

Notes: I also hate this color, but that’s because I picked this off of the Ulta website but I liked the formula so I’ve kept it here. Also, my lips are super chapped here so be aware of that.

I’m not in love with the packaging here, it’s not bad but it’s nothing interesting either, it’s very bland and not exciting. The applicator is weird, it looks just like the Smashbox one from last week except smaller, it’s very strange but it works pretty well. The stopper on this could be a little bit better because it doesn’t wipe off enough product as I would like but that’s alright.

So, now it’s time to announce the winner and I think this one is clear, but just in case you guys can’t tell who the winner is I will say it, it’s the Bronx Colors Matte Lip Tint in Bloom. I hate both of the colors here, but I think the J.Cat one doesn’t hold up at all, it is a lot more comfortable and looks a little better on the lips, but the first time you eat it is gone. So, if you don’t mind those things then I would for sure go for one, but if you are looking for lasting power the Bronx one is for sure the winner. I just prefer it because of the lasting power, the fact that it is true to color and it still looks pretty good on the lips excluding my super dry lips that are currently plaguing me. Come back next Friday to see the final battle of this round!

nicolesignout

Leave a Reply

