2017 · beauty · Review

Review: Ultimate Shadow Palette Brights

I feel like it has been forever since I’ve written a review that wasn’t a battle post, so just a normal, no fuss review and that’s probably because it has been a little while. I’m trying to get myself to write more reviews but I have so many products that I can review and so little time, it’s the endless problem I am currently having, having so many ideas and things that I want to get out but at the same time only blogging four times a week. I am heavily debating adding a fifth day but I’m just not sure. Anyway, enough about that right now, let’s get into reviewing the NYX Ultimate Shadow Palette in Brights. 

20170305_124814.jpgI want to start out by saying that I really love the look of this eyeshadow palette, it’s very clean lined, there isn’t a lot of wasted space and I just like the black plastic with the brightly colored eyeshadows. I also like how compact it is, it is a little bit thicker than I would like but it’s small, and like I said above, there’s not really a lot of wasted space on this one. I do think that this feels a little bit cheap, but for $17.99 I can’t really complain either, it’s not like it’s falling apart already or anything, it just feels a little bit on the cheaper side of things.

20170305_124823.jpgAs you might imagine I bought this palette because I wanted to play with color, that seems to be a really common reasoning with this one here. It’s a really great palette for that purpose, I think it’s a pretty good palette overall but I think it is fantastic if you’re wanting to experiment with color but don’t want to invest a whole lot on it.

I also want to make sure I don’t forget this information, so I’ll throw it in here, shades 02, 03 and 06 are not safe for use around eyes. I personally use them around my eyes and have had no problems with it, but if you have sensitive eyes or anything like that I would avoid it. I haven’t experienced any staining myself, but that may also be a problem that could occur with some of the shades. So, just to be clear shades 03, 02 and 06 are not safe for use around the eyes.

With that out of the way, I think I’m going to jump into the next photo, which is showing you some swatches of these beautiful shades and then chat a little more in depth about the formula and pigmentations of all of them.

20170127_103232.jpgI probably could have taken slight better swatches and probably should have split them into two sets of swatches, but I think it’s a little bit too late for that now and I still think this photo accurately displays the colors of these eyeshadows and how vibrant they are.

There isn’t a lot of variety of finishes in this palette, a couple look like they might have a little bit of sparkle in the pan but I find when swatched and applied all of these are matte, which is fine by me but if you’re look for a bit of shimmer you’ll have to pull in other eyeshadows because this palette does not have them.

As a whole I find this palette to be fairly pigmented and the shadows very easy to work with, not overly chalky or anything like that. There are a couple of shadows that the pigmentation isn’t great with and they might lean a little bit more on the chalky side, two stick out for me and that is the one lighter blue shade and the lighter yellow shade. Neither are impossible to work with but they are a little bit harder to work with than some of the others, all of these do amazingly well with a white base and are so vibrant, which I love of course. I think these all blend out really well and it’s a lot of fun to play with.

Here are a few different looks that I created using this palette., I’ve had a lot of fun playing with the colors if you couldn’t tell, I’m excited to play with it more. I really need to dip into the blues, greens, and yellows, maybe I’ll post a look using those three colors sometime, I’m not sure yet but then again when am I ever? Anyway, the first one was because I really wanted to play with a sunset type of look, which I didn’t quite achieve, the middle was for valentines day and the right was just because I wanted to play with color. I think this palette is incredibly versatile as I didn’t bring any other eyeshadows into these looks, except the base cream color and maybe an inner corner highlight in the middle one. But it has so many color options that it makes it super easy to come up with so many looks and I’m very excited about getting to play with this more.

Overall, I really like this palette, I think the eyeshadows are nice and I think the price point for so many different colors is really fantastic. Do you guys have this palette? And if so what do you think of this palette?

nicolesignout

Twitter Instagram Pinterest Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “Review: Ultimate Shadow Palette Brights

Leave a Reply

