2017 · Battle · beauty · liquid lipstick battle

Liquid Lipstick Battle: The Final Battle

liquidlipstbattlefinal

I can’t believe this is the final battle in my liquid lipstick battle, I’ve been working on this project since November and four months later it’s coming to an end. If you want to see all of the posts that got us to these three contenders, feel free to check them all out here.  I am so excited for this one, this will be the toughest battle yet, and not just because I wore each one of the finalists for 12 hours straight to see how they performed. This is also going to be a close one, which I knew before I started testing out each liquid lipstick for this round, but there will be a winner. The three finalists are the Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick in In Demand, Beauty Bakerie Lip Whip in I like to Chai Chai and the Too Faced Melted Matte in Queen B. All three of these lipsticks are fantastic but only one is going to be called the best, so let’s jump on in and see which one comes out on top.

I can already tell that this one is going to be a long one, so grab yourself a drink, a snack and settle in.

  For the final round, I’ve decided to do 12 hours of wear, so I checked in twice throughout the day instead of just once. Let’s start with the Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick in In Demand, we’ll start at the far left photo, as usual, which was taken at 7:33 A.M., the next one was taken at 11:45 A.M., the next to last one was taken at 3:29 P.M. and the far right was taken at 7: 39 P.M. for a total of 12 hours and 6 minutes of wear time.

Appearance On Lips: I enjoy the look of this on my lips, I think it settles into the lines just a tiny bit fairly early on but I don’t find that it settled much more than it did within the first few minutes. I also think this wore really evenly, maybe that was because of the shade I own, I’m not sure but it wore very evenly.

Texture: The texture of this leans more towards moussey but it is a bit on the thinner side, it’s still moussey. I really quite enjoy this texture because it’s very comfortable to wear.

Pigmentation: The pigmentation on this is alright, it’s not bad by any means but it’s nothing show stopping either.

Time It Took To Fully Dry:  About two minutes to fully dry, this one is a pretty quick one in terms of drying.

Smell: I can’t pick up any smell to this one other than that usual cosmetics kind of scent that a lot of products have.

Kissproof: Yes.

Comfort: I think this one is fairly comfortable, not the most comfortable liquid lipstick I’ve ever tried but it is for sure the most comfortable liquid lipstick in this final round. I find this a little bit drying but barely, it’s very comfortable.

Price: $24.00

Price Per Oz: $184.61

Final Score: 4.5 out of 5

Notes: I think this one held up fairly well, it didn’t make it to the end of the day but it did make out pretty well, especially considering I ate Taco Bell while wearing this one and that is a lot of food to lip contact, but it handled itself really well and wore nice and evenly.

I have been over this three other times but I’m going to go over this one last time, the packaging of this one is one that I really quite enjoy, I like the matte black handle that doesn’t feel so matte that it sticks or tugs, I like how sleek this looks and clean, it’s just a really nice looking product if you ask me. The applicator of this one is one that I had never seen until I picked up this product and it’s interesting for sure, I like it, though. I think that the wider base does well when it comes to filling in all of the lip but the point makes for great precision to make sure you get all of the lines of the lips while still staying inside of them. The stopper on this one does a pretty good job, it does leave a little bit of excess on it but it’s nothing that I can’t handle or that is bothersome. Overall, I really like the packaging on this one.

Next up is the Beauty Bakerie Lip Whip in I Like To Chai Chai, we will be starting with the left photo and going to the right, as I always do. The far left photo was taken at 7:45 A.M., the next one at 11:49 A.M., the next at 3:35 P.M. and the far right was at 7:58 P.M. for a total of 12 hours and 13 minutes of wear time.

Appearance On Lips: I really like the look of this on the lips, it looks quite nice and does settle into the lines of my lips as the day goes on but nothing that much. This one did not wear as well but I’ll talk about that a little bit more in the notes section

Texture: The texture of this is thin but still fairly sturdy, it’s not super liquidy like some liquid lipsticks I’ve tried.

Pigmentation: This one has really fantastic pigmentation to it, it’s very true to color in the tube and it is very opaque which I love about it.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: This one wasn’t the fastest but it wasn’t slow by any means, this one dried fully in about four minutes.

Smell: I can’t pick up any smell when it comes to this one, other than that cosmetic type smell like I talked about above with the Smashbox one.

Kissproof: It is 100% kissproof

Comfort: It’s pretty comfortable, it is a tiny bit on the drying side but nothing too bad, I still barely noticed it on my lips.

Price: $20.00

Price Per Oz: $125.00

Final Score: 4.5 out of 5

Notes: I was so impressed by this the last time that I wore it, I still am, which you may be asking yourself why I am seeing as it wore so terribly. But, I ate tacos and an ice cream cone, so I’m just surprised that anything lasted on my lips at all. I will say, it looks pretty good after the tacos but the ice cream really did it in. Still impressed with the wear of this product.

 I haven’t been over the packaging of this one too many times, only once before and I’m going to talk a little bit about it today as that is what I do. I like the packaging on this alright, it’s not my favorite but it’s not bad either. There is a lot of texture that is going on with this one, the tube itself is frosted and the handle has “lip whip” on it in raised writing, so there is a bit of texture going on here and that is interesting. The packaging itself is alright. The applicator wand is nothing exciting, it’s a really standard doe foot applicator and there is nothing wrong with that, it’s just nothing exciting either. As for the stopper, I think the stopper does a fairly good job at what it’s supposed to do. Overall, I’m alright with the packaging it’s just not my favorite of all.

Now it’s time for the last one, which as you can probably guess it the Too Faced Melted Matte in Queen B.

Appearance On Lips: This looks pretty good on the lips, I think it settles a little bit, it settles a bit more than the other two but nothing that much. It wore pretty evenly too, but it did end up wearing off completely by the end of the day.

Texture: This one is pretty standard when it comes to texture, it’s not liquidy but it’s not super moussey either, I quite enjoy the texture of this one.

Pigmentation: The pigmentation is great with this one, it’s very opaque and true to color with only one swipe, which I very much appreciate.

Time It Took To Fully Dry: This was a fairly quick one in terms of drying, it dried in about three minutes.

Smell: The smell of this one is hands down one of my favorites, it smells like buttercream frosting and I love that, it’s a strong one, though. When I open the tube I get a whiff of it immediately, I don’t notice it a whole lot on the lips but if you are really sensitive to smells I might avoid this one.

Kissproof: Yes.

Comfort: I think this one is the most drying out of the three in this final round, I don’t think it’s overly drying or anything like that, it’ still fairly comfortable but I do think that it’s the most drying formula of the three.

Price: $21.00

Price Per Oz: $91.30

Final Score: 4 out of 5

Notes: I think that this wore really well, I didn’t hold up through the entire day but I still think that it wore really well, nice and even.

I have been over this before but I like the packaging of this one, but this is a mini and I hate the full sized packaging, which I don’t own and I don’t hate it enough to not want to purchase a full size. The full size has a strange shape to it, the base is larger than the rest of it and it tapers up, whereas this mini is just round and really cute. I like the gold color and the font on the packaging, so in terms of the one I own, I really like it. The applicator on this one is also nothing to write home about as it’s just a really standard doe foot applicator, which there is nothing wrong with as it does the job well, but it’s nothing out of the ordinary either. The stopper on this does a good job, it wipes off enough without wiping off too much which makes for a fantastic application.

Alright, now it is time to crown a winner, I’ve been thinking about this all week and have been thinking about it the entire time that I’ve been writing this post, I’m still not completely sure who the winner is going to be.  The only thing I know for certain right now is that the Too Faced Melted Matte in Queen B is not the winner, I have nothing against it and really quite enjoy it but it’s for sure between the other two.

I’m having a hard time because the Smashbox one is a little bit more comfortable and wore a little more evenly, but the Beauty Bakerie one was up against a hard group of foods and I think it held up really well when you think about that. I’m also thinking about past wears, the Smashbox one has been more consistent but I’ve also worn it a lot more, whereas the Beauty Bakerie one is less consistent but the last way time I wore it, it lasted so well and I was very impressed. I would say I’m splitting hairs here but it feels even closer than that to me.

I think the winner has to be the Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick in In Demand, just because it did wear better in the end and is a little bit more comfortable to wear on the lips. That’s not to say that all three of these liquid lipsticks aren’t really great, I would suggest any of these because they are all really great. I just think the Smashbox one was a tiny bit better than all the rest.

I’m both excited and sad to see this series go, maybe I’ll do it again with other products, we shall see. What is your favorite liquid lipstick of all time?

nicolesignout

Twitter Instagram Pinterest Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “Liquid Lipstick Battle: The Final Battle

Leave a Reply

