2017 · Battle · beauty

Battle: Too Faced Born This Way vs. Milani Conceal + Perfect

April 2017

It’s time for another dupe post and I’m super excited about it! I’m usually excited about dupe posts, I am trying to get through all the ones that I know I have but as usual, I have so many ideas and so much content that I’m not sure of when I’ll get around to those, but I have them ready to go whenever. Anyway, back to the point of today’s post which is about a dupe that I decided to try out when I saw that Milani released a lighter shade, it’s the Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Snow and the Milani Conceal + Perfect in Light Natural.  Now, let’s just dive right on in and see if these two foundations are dupes.

20170409_152703.jpgI want to start out by saying that I do not think that these two are color dupes by any means, there may be a color dupe in the Too Faced Born This Way Foundation but it’s not the one that I own as it would be too dark for my skin tone. I did wear the Milani foundation once without mixing it just so I could test the wear out and such, but I can say that the color looked awful and didn’t match at all, so just a heads up if you are fairly pale and were excited about the release of a new lighter color, it’s still not light enough.

Anyway, I just wanted to get that really obvious thing out of the way before I started talking about each of the products by themselves, let’s get into a bit more detail about each product. We’re going to start out with the more expensive of the two products, which is the Too Faced Born This Way Foundation.

20170409_152716.jpg

The Too Faced Born This Way Foundation can be found online, at Ulta and Sephora to name a few places, it comes in a total of 18 different shades and retails for $39.00. I have had this foundation for about a year now and I can say this for sure, I really love it and it’s probably the best foundation that I own and have ever tried. So, duping this product is going to be a little bit hard in my book since I already know that I love this so very much.

Before we get into the contents, let’s chat a little bit about the packaging. I like the packaging a lot, I feel like it’s fairly simple, looks and feels really high end and the pump works really well and pumps out just the right amount of product without overdoing it. I like the frosted glass, the gold and black also, I just think it looks really nice and I like it.

I think this foundation is fantastic, it comes in a fair amount of shades that make it pretty easy to find something that matches, I think this has really great coverage that is easily medium to full coverage but the best part about this is that I can’t feel it on my skin and that is something that I truly love. While I enjoy makeup, I don’t always like to feel it on my skin, especially when it comes to foundations because they tend to feel like a mask on the skin. Luckily this doesn’t feel like that in the slightest bit. I don’t think this has much of a smell to it, it just kind of has that typical foundation kind of smell that most foundations seem to have. I also find this really easy to apply, I haven’t tried applying this with a brush as I am much more of a sponge type of gal, but it looks really quite flawless on the skin when applied with a sponge. The only thing left to talk about on this one is the lasting power, which is something else that I enjoy. I don’t think it has extreme lasting power like I don’t think I could wear it for 16 hours straight but it holds up amazingly well over an 8 hour period and probably somewhat beyond that, I don’t pay a whole lot of attention after that point.  Overall, this is just really a great foundation and I think it’s worth the nearly $40 price tag that comes along with it.

20170409_152725.jpgUp next is the Milani Conceal + Perfect Foundation can be found online, in some Walgreens and CVS and even some Targets.  This comes in 15 different shades, which is a fair amount and I think that’s a pretty good selection and it will run you about $10.

Let’s talk a little bit about the packaging of this one, I really quite enjoy it. I think this is for sure one of the better-looking drugstore foundation packaging. This feels nice, I like the black fade and I also really enjoy the pump. A foundation with a pump is the best kind of foundation.

I actually really like this foundation, it’s the wrong shade of course, but I like the foundation overall. The coverage of the is for sure full coverage, I’m not the biggest fan of the feeling of this because it’s not super heavy but it is heavier than the Too Faced one and feels a little bit like a mask to me but nothing that bothers me that much. This also has that normal foundation kind of smell to it, nothing out of the ordinary at all in terms of scent. I apply this with a sponge, of course, and it applies really easy and like a dream, so that is a plus. The finish is really nice, I think it looks really nice and not cakey, I also think this has great lasting power, at least 8 to 10 hours of wear. The best I’ve found to wear this foundation is to mix it with the NYX Total Control Drop Foundation, which is a little bit light and thin for me so when they mix together it makes it pretty much perfect, it doesn’t feel so masky and the color actually matches. I think this is a pretty good foundation and for sure worth the $10 price tag if you can find a shade that works for your skin tone well.

20170409_152614.jpgOverall, do I think these two foundations are dupes? Not exactly. I do think these are very close in the formula but not exactly the same. I think the Too Faced foundation is a little bit thinner while offering the same amount of coverage, it’s for sure a full coverage that feels really great on the skin and barely noticeable. The Milani one is a little bit thicker and is something that I notice on the skin a lot more. The two of these have the same amount of coverage really, they also leave about the same kind of finish on the skin, which to me looks pretty flawless on the skin. Really, they are almost identical but the reason why I am saying that they aren’t exact dupes of one another is because of the fact that they do not feel exactly the same on the skin, which is a notable thing to me because once again I don’t like to feel like I’m wearing a ton of makeup usually.

Overall, both of these foundations are really good and if you don’t mind a slightly thicker foundation I think either one of these would make a great choice of foundation to try out. I would personally pick the Too Faced one, of course, as it’s my favorite foundation that I’ve ever tried. Nut, either one is a great option I think.

What products would you guys like to see dupe posts about?

nicolesignout

Twitter Instagram Pinterest Bloglovin’

One thought on “Battle: Too Faced Born This Way vs. Milani Conceal + Perfect

Leave a Reply

