2017 · beauty · Wishlist

Foundation Round Up 2017

Foundation Round Up

I’ve decided to do something a little bit fun and different than what I usually do, of course, I blog about makeup all the time but I don’t think I’ve rounded up a bunch of one product to compare. In this case, I’ve rounded up all of the foundations that I currently own and I’m going to go over all of them just a little bit. Let’s jump right on in and talk about foundations.

20170423_130554.jpg

I have seven different foundations to talk about today, I would have had eight if my Sephora order came in but it did not, so we are stuck with seven very different foundations to talk about which is plenty, I just kind of wish I could have gotten the last one too.

Milani Conceal + Perfect 2-in-1 Foundation + Concealer in Light Natural. Is the first one up, this one is something I hear nothing but good things about and I’m not sure that I really like this. This is for sure a full coverage foundation but it really feels like it, like when I wear this I am completely aware that I have foundation on my face as it feels a little bit like a mask. So, I’m not really that into it. My other problem with this is the color, this is the new lightest shade that they make and it’s still not light enough for me, this is about two shades too dark for me so maybe I’ll be able to wear it in the summer, but as of right now it is just not the foundation for me. I do like it a lot more when I mix it with other foundations, it lightens it while also making it feel a lot lighter usually but by itself, it’s just not for me. Where To Buy: Milani Website Price: $10.00

Clinique Superbalanced Makeup in Alabaster. This is something that my future mother in law swears by, so being a makeup addict I had to try it out, especially when I picked this up I was testing out foundations for bridal makeup so my theory was the more the merrier. But, this is something that I don’t actually hate. I would not wear it for bridal makeup, it’s a little too sheer for me, I find that this has a lighter coverage which I don’t mind but it’s just not what I was going for in terms of wedding makeup. This one is also a tiny bit darker than I might like but this is something that I can still easily wear, so I do find myself reaching for this. Where To Buy: Clinique Website Price: $25.00

Wet ‘N Wild Photo Focus Foundation in Nude Ivory. This is another foundation that I feel like the internet is just in love with, this was hard to find at first but once I did find it I for sure picked it up. I hate the smell of this foundation, I want to get that out of the way because I think that is the only negative I have to say about this one, it smells like paint thinner and it is strong. I like everything else about this, I feel like this has good coverage but not quite full, so it still looks and feels like natural skin instead of like a mask. I think the shade range of this foundation is another plus, the shade range in store is kind of lacking everywhere that I’ve seen it but online it’s impressive for drugstore. So, I really like this one. Where To Buy: Wet ‘N Wild Website Price:$5.99

L’oreal Infallible Pro Glow Foundation in Creamy Natural. This is the newest foundation to me, I bought this maybe a couple of weeks ago and somehow managed to grab the wrong shade, I think this one was in the spot for the one that I wanted and I just wasn’t paying attention so I’m not sure what to do with this one, I haven’t tried it out a whole lot yet but the color match isn’t that bad, this still ends up being a foundation I mix with one of my lighter ones but it’s not that off. I do find that I like the formula of this one, it’s lightweight while still providing coverage, it also has lasting power and I really wish I had picked up the right shade. Where To Buy: L’oreal Website Price: $12.99

Too Faced Born The Way Foundation in Snow. This is the only mid-range foundation in this bunch, the clinique one is a little bit pricey but I would consider this truly mid range. This is probably my favorite of the bunch, if not my favorite then it is damn near close and comes in at second, this one and the next two foundations are all things that I really love so I’m splitting hairs a little bit talking about which is my favorite. This one feels natural on the skin, I never even noticed that I’m wearing it, but it still provides really good coverage and I think it can be built up to full coverage even. I think this foundation is completely worth the price tag. Where To Buy: Too Faced Website Price: $39.00

Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation in Porcelain. This is the other one that really competes with the Too Faced one above for my favorite, it’s a really fantastic foundation and it’s drugstore. The shade match of this for me is perfect, it looks like it was meant for me, the formula of this is really good and lasts for quite some time. It is a matte foundation, I really want to try the glowy version of this but I haven’t yet, I was trying to use some things up. Anyway, this feels lightweight on the skin, gives some coverage and lasts for a little while so overall this is a really nice foundation, especially since it’s from the drugstore. Where To Buy: Maybelline Website Price: $7.99

NYX Total Control Drops in Porcelain. I think this is a little bit of a strange product but I find it to be really useful, especially with those couple of foundations that are the slightest bit too dark for my skin tone at the moment. I like these alright on their own, they give a light coverage and I find that it takes a lot of this to get a full face of this on. How I have been loving using this is mixing it though, it’s perfect for that and I’m pretty sure that’s the intended use of this product, it lightens without really changing the finish or feel of the foundation, which is a really useful thing I think. The only con to this one is that I can see myself using it up quickly. Where To Buy: NYX Website Price: $14.99

20170423_131456.jpgNow that I’ve gone over all of the foundations a little bit I think it is time to share some swatches with you guys. We will be going from top to bottom with these swatches.

Milani Conceal + Perfect 2-In-1 Foundation and Concealer in Light Natural.

Clinique Superbalanced Makeup in Alabaster.

Wet ‘N Wild Photo Focus Foundation in Nude Ivory.

L’Oreal Infalliable Pro Glow Foundation in Creamy Natural.

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Snow.

Maybelline Matte + Porless Foundation in Porcelain.

NYX Total Control Drops in Porcelain.

And those are all of the foundations that I currently own and a little bit of what I think about each one, I don’t think I really own any that I don’t like, there are for sure ones that I enjoy more than others but I think for the most part I like all of these.

What’s your favorite foundation?

nicolesignout

Twitter Instagram Pinterest Bloglovin’

10 thoughts on “Foundation Round Up 2017

  1. I’m not sure how it would do on dry skin, I have normal to oil skin so it works pretty well for me, I don’t really use it when my skin is dry. And thank you!

    Like

  2. Great reviews! I love the Born This Way foundation and the NYX Total Control drops! I think the NYX one will be my go-to in the summer months since I can do a little less and it feels more like a tinted moisturizer than a heavy foundation. I’m currently loving the Sonia Kashuk Soft Focus Satin Matte foundation. It’s a nice medium coverage (buildable if you need more) and it sits on my skin nicely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve not even heard of that one. I would say I would try it out but I probably have way too many foundations already to any new ones will have to wait. Also, the NYX Total Control Drops seem like such a good thing to have in a collection.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t blame you! I got the NYX and Sonia Kashuk ones from target at the same time…as if I needed both. And I agree, I think the NYX foundation is so versatile and will be useful for many different times and events!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I love trying new things and am a bit of hoarder, but I try and keep myself in check still. Haha. The only downside to the NYX one is that I can see myself going through it quickly.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I agree, I could definitely see running through it a little quicker than my other foundations for sure. And I completely understand being a bit of a hoarder when it comes to makeup…it’s just so hard.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

