2017 · beauty · beauty blogger

Monthly Favorites: May 2017

May Favorites & Face

It’s time for some monthly favorites and this month I also came up with a monthly face this month, so we’re back to the normal program. May seemed to drag on for quite some time, not as bad as last month though. Now, let’s just jump right into this month favorites!

20170528_120019

This month I stuck to only makeup products, I didn’t completely mean to but when I was trying to round up non-makeup items I couldn’t really come up with anything that really came to mind as a favorite, so for this month, we are sticking to what I love, makeup.

Let’s start with something that I am a little bit surprised that I like because I’m not a huge bronzer kind of person, that is the Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer in Light Bronzer. This bronzer is actually really good and I find it super easy to use, it looks really soft and natural without being overdone. I also really love the scent of this, it’s very prominent but I like the coconut, sunscreen type of scent a lot.

Now, onto something else that I feel like is really hyped up but something that I fell in love with very quickly, which is the Tarte Shape Tape Concealer in Fair. This is a really thick concealer, it is for sure full coverage but at the same time, I find this really easy to blend out and very easy to work with, as well as not really feeling that heavy on the skin which is always a plus in my book.

Essence Make Me Brow in Soft Browny Brows, this is something that I am sure has been in favorites before, probably even a few different ones but this is something that I am a huge fan of so that’s why it keeps showing up. It’s really easy to apply, looks very natural and overall is just a really quick application. It’s just a really easy and very reasonably priced product.

Up next is another product that I feel like gets talked about a fair amount because apparently, this month is the month of hyped up favorites that are actually really good. This product is the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Foundation in Porcelain, this foundation is fabulous and I can completely see myself repurchasing this already, even though I currently have like 9 foundations to go through, but this one is just really nice. It’s a fantastic color match for me, a very lightweight feel while still giving som coverage. The only complaint that I might have about this one is that the applicator is terrible, I’m not a huge fan of dropper types as I find them a bit difficult to work with.

This next one is something that is somewhat new to me but also not, it’s something that I had a sample size of but decided to commit to the full size and that is the Stila Huge Mascara. This may not be my all-time favorite mascara, it’s a tiny bit wetter than I usually like but it’s still a favorite because I still love it, I’m just on the hunt for the perfect mascara.

I cannot link you to this exact product because I don’t believe this is for sale anywhere anymore, but I can link you to the original product which is what I plan on doing. That is the Mac Fix+ in the scent Coconut, I have a travel size of this and just got a full size of the new one, which I am not sure of the scent yet, but I am excited. I love this product already and have used half of it, it does a really good job at finishing off a look and making me look less powdery while prolonging the wear of my makeup and the smell is great.

Speaking of powdery, my next favorite is a powder and that is the Nyx Blotting Powder in Light. I am not a powder connoisseur, I don’t know a lot about powder and I don’t really care that much, as long as it does what I need it to and this one does really well. It’s a nice shade, it’s really soft and leaves a nice finish on the skin.

Rimmel Exaggerate Waterproof Eye Definer in Noir is the last item, I wanted to try a new eyeliner because the one that I had been using is really dark but would always run, so this just made logical sense to me. I have the nude one and use it all the time, I don’t find that it moves or runs at all, so I picked up the black and I love it so much because it just stays put.

And those are all of my favorite products from this past month, so now let’s jump into the look that I came up with using some of these products.

Lorac Behind The Scenes Primer

Anastasia Modern Renaissance Palette Shades: Tempera, Vermeer, Buon Fresco, Warm Taupe, Antique Bronze and Cyprus Umber

Rimmel Exaggerate Eyeliner in Noir

Rimmel Exaggerate Eyeliner in In The Nude

Nyx Matte Liquid Liner in Black

Stila Huge Mascara

Smashbox Photofinish Foundation Primer

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Foundation in Porcelain

Tarte Shape Tape Concealer in Fair

Nyx Blotting Powder in Light

Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer in Light Bronzer

Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Blushing Bride

Tarte Amazonian Clay Highlight in Exposed

Essence Make Me Brow in Soft Browny Brows

Mac Fix+ in Coconut

Buxom White Russian Gloss

And that is everything in terms of what was on my face, I actually really liked this look even though it was a fairly neutral look, but sometimes it’s just nice to go back to something basic and simple, which is what I did a lot for the month of May. Maybe I’ll be back to playing with some more adventourous looks in June, we’ll just have to wait and see.

What were some of your favorite products in May?

nicolesignout

Twitter Instagram Pinterest Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “Monthly Favorites: May 2017

    1. I always heard good things about it but had to try it when I heard about the coconut scent, which is faint but I really love!The butter bronzer is so good too! Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

