2017 · beauty · beauty blogger · Review

Review: Lipstick Queen Frog Prince + Hello Sailor

Lipstick Queen Duo Review

I feel like I’ve been doing a fair amount of reviews and I think that’s a good thing, I have tons of things to review and tons of things that I could still decide to review, but either way today I have a review ready for you guys and I’m actually reviewing two products, they came in a little set together and I didn’t want to split them up. So, let’s get into this review.

20170420_155333.jpgI don’t think I can express how excited I was to see this set, I had the full intention to pick up the shade Hello Sailor but then this set came out and it was only ten more dollars than the one, so I decided to finally bite the bullet and pick this set up. This set is for sale on the Ulta website, here, and it’s currently $35.00 for both of these lipsticks, which does seem a little bit steep but I love the idea of these and am super glad that I picked these up.

Let me talk a little bit about these, these lipsticks are a little bit strange, Hello Sailor is a blue lipstick and Frog Prince is a green lipstick, which at this point in time isn’t that strange, those are colors that are becoming more normal to see, but these are not actually those colors. These are some of those really cool color changing lipsticks, which I am sure is really simple to figure out but I love the idea of because they are really cool. My fiance thinks I’m weird but I like the idea of looking like I’m applying blue lipstick and really it’s a super wearable shade.

20170420_155402.jpg

I’m going to start out with the one that I used the most and that is the Hello Sailor lipstick, which is the blue one as you can probably tell. This is something that I really wanted and is actually something that I find myself reaching for a fair amount, which is something that I am happy about.

Anyway, this is a blue lipstick that once applied to the lips, starts to change and adjusts to the perfect sheer plum kind of shade, it’s really cool and it always looks so good. I think that is another reason why I like this kind of ‘color changing’ lipsticks, they are just really easy to apply and so effortless, at least in my experience that’s how these are.

This changes on the lips fairly quickly, I did not time it which I am kind of regretting now but it’s too late, well, kind of. This does change quickly and is just a really great, sheer shade on the lips.

20170420_155422.jpgI know, I didn’t talk about the feeling on the lips and really the texture of these lipsticks at all yet, but I’m going to talk about them both in the next little bit as they have the same kind of formula to them, just different colors.

So, onto Frog Prince, which is the green one if you couldn’t tell, and if it wasn’t obvious with the name of this one.  This one looks green but when it’s applied to the lips it adjust to your perfect sheer hot pink shade. While I think this one is still sheer and easy to just swipe on, I do find that this one has a bit more pigment to it then the previous.

So now, I think it is time to start talking about the formula and wear of these two lipsticks. Since they are sheer I think it should be pretty obvious that these lipsticks are very moisturizing, which is a big plus to me, while I love liquid lipsticks sometimes it’s nice to have something that doesn’t dry out the lips but instead is very moisturizing.

20170420_155455.jpgBecause these are sheer I am sure you are thinking that these won’t have a lot of lasting power, and if I’m being completely honest, you’d be completely right. This lipstick doesn’t have a lot of lasting power to it and I do find myself having to reapply a lot actually, but I’m alright with that since these two lipsticks are super moisturizing. Plus, these colors are always really pretty and really effortless, so I’m not really bothered by this,

I think the last thing that I really need to address is scent, which I just sniffed both of these because I really couldn’t remember if these had much scent to them, they do not, they are basically fragrance-free.

So, if you’re looking for a really fun yet natural, really moisturizing lipstick then this is something that you might want to check out. I will say this though, as much as I enjoy these and as fun as I think they are, I really wouldn’t consider this something that someone needs. It is a really great product and if you’re looking for something fun, this is fun but it’s not earth shattering.

What do you guys think about color changing lipstick?

Twitter Instagram Pinterest Bloglovin’

nicolesignout

Leave a Reply

