2017 · Battle · beauty · beauty blogger

Battle: The Balm Vs NYX Liquid Lipstick

The BalmVs.NYX

It feels like it has been forever since I have done a dupe post, that’s probably because I completely forgot to schedule in a dupe post last month, I don’t know what is wrong with me but it completely slipped my mind. I think I was doing pretty good, making sure I got a dupe post out every month but I guess my streak is broken now. I am getting back to it though with a battle of the liquid lipsticks, I will be battling The Balm Meet Matt(e) Huges in Sincere and NYX Liquid Suede in Softspoken.  So, let’s just jump right on in and find out of these two products are dupes.

I guess I am going to start this post out by talking about the obvious thing here, the color of these two products. On the hand swatch, the NYX is on the left and The Balm on the right, which there they look really quite different at least to me they do. Like, on the hand they are close enough to not really need both, even though I already owned both, but at the same time, I can see a difference between the two. The left is a little bit darker and a little less red, which I enjoy more and the right is, of course, lighter and a little bit more red in color. So, I wasn’t really confident on these being dupes because the swatches just weren’t matching up at all.

However, I continued on to see what they looked like on the lips and on the top lip I wore the NYX Liquid Suede and the bottom was The Balm Meet Matt(e) Huges, and much to my surprise these two do look like color dupes to me. I can barely tell the difference, the slightest difference I can see between the two is that the NYX one is still a tiny bit darker, but my fiance couldn’t tell the difference until I pointed out that I was wearing two different lipsticks. So, upon first glance, I don’t think these are color dupes but on the lips, these look almost identical and way close enough to not need to own both of these.

Now, I think it is time to talk about formula. I don’t think these guys are as close in the formula as they are color, granted I also don’t think they are that different really. I think that the NYX one actually lasts a tiny bit longer on the lips, both are about the same when it comes to the feel on the lips, not drying but not the most comfortable thing that I’ve ever worn on my lips either. I will say this, neither one of these lipsticks held up to the pizza I ate the day I was wearing these at all. So, the wear time of these aren’t that different really but I still stick by the NYX one wearing a little bit better.

So, overall I think that these are dupes, or at least close enough to not really need to own both of them. I do own both but now that I’ve seen that they are dupes of one another maybe I’ll declutter one, we’ll see how that goes the next time I’m looking through my stash.

What dupes would you guys be interested in seeing?

nicolesignout

Twitter Instagram Pinterest Bloglovin’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Battle: The Balm Vs NYX Liquid Lipstick

Leave a Reply

